Dorothy M. Smith Scholarship/Fellowship


Support undergraduate or graduate nursing students from low-income families or with other special financial need as determined by the college administration. Recipients must maintain a minimum of 3.0 GPA to be eligible for a renewal of the scholarship or fellowship support.


The Dorothy M. Smith Scholarship/Fellowship was established in 2012 by UF College of Nursing Professors Emeriti Dr. Jo Snider and Jodi Irving. Irving and Snider want to help ensure the excellence in nursing education at UF that Dean Dorothy Smith established when she founded the college in 1956.

Dean Smith helped to lay the foundation for many of the most important nursing advances over the past few decades, notably an emphasis on quality in nursing and health care. Among the advances Dean Smith developed was the nursing rounds where students and faculty members visited clinical sites at Shands and discussed patient care. She also pioneered the nursing history that was an assessment tool to replicate the habits at home and add to patient recovery.

Share this Fund
Give Now to this Fund
Please select an amount